Home » Gunnerus Award

The Gunnerus Award

Honors outstanding scientific work 

The Gunnerus Award in Sustainability Science is an international research prize of NOK 1 million. The Gunnerus Award was founded by the Royal Norwegian Society of Sciences and Letters and awarded for the first time in 2012. From 2017, it has been jointly awarded every other year with NTNU.

The award honors outstanding scientific work for global sustainable development, and aims to promote research and strengthen the scientific basis of sustainability.

Previous winners include biologist Kamal Bawa, environmental researcher Carl Folke and ecology professor Sandra M. Díaz.


Logo Gunnerus Sustainability Award

The Gunnerus Award in Sustainability Science for 2021 has been awarded to Professor Jianguo (Jack) Liu. Professor Liu holds the Rachel Carson Chair in Sustainability at Michigan State University in the United States. He takes a holistic approach to complex challenges where people interact with the environment.


Gunnerus Award for 2021 – main page 

Professor Jianguo Liu.

Photo: Michigan State University Center for Systems Integration an Sustainability.

Previous laureates

Kamal Bawa

Kamal Bawa
Gunnerus Award laureate 2012

Read more

Carl Folke

Carl Folke,
Gunnerus Award laureate 2017.
Photo: M.Axellson, Azote

Les mer

Sandra M. Dìaz

Sandra M. Dìaz,
Gunnerus Award laureate 2019.
Photo: Sandra M. Díaz

Les mer