The International Gunnerus Award: 

Honoring achievements in sustainability science


The International Gunnerus Award in Sustainability Science honors outstanding scientific work promoting global sustainable development. 

The aim is to contribute to the strengthening of research and advancing the achievement of the scientific evidence base within the interdisciplinary Sustainability Science.

The award is given to one individual scientist, or, in the case of closely related fundamental scientific contributions, may be shared between two scientists.

The award amount is NOK 1 million.

In addition, the award winner receives a gold medal and a diploma. The prize is not given post mortem, the exception being if the award winner dies after the announcement and before the award ceremony.


The conferring institutions and Johan Ernst Gunnerus

The international Gunnerus Sustainability Science Award is a collaboration between the Royal Norwegian Society of Sciences and Letters (DKNVS) – Norway’s oldest scientific institution and the original founder of the prize, and the Norwegian University of Science and Technology – Norway’s largest university. The prize is awarded every two years.

The founding father of DKNVS was bishop Johan Ernst Gunnerus (1718-1773) who became Norway’s first internationally acclaimed naturalist. His legacy is still very much felt in Norway and Trondheim today, the city from which he led the Society. Thus, the Award is named in his honor, as the Gunnerus Award in Sustainability Science.

The Gunnerus Award symbol is based on a meadow buttercup from 1767 in J. E. Gunnerus’ herbarium. Gunnerus was the founding father of the The Royal Norwegian Society of Sciences and Letters (DKNVS). 

The Royal Norwegian Society of Sciences and Letters
Det Kongelige Norske Videnskabers Selskab (DKNVS)
Address: Elvegata 17, 7012 Trondheim, Norway
Telephone:+47 94 78 79 78
E-mail: post AT

Laureate 2019

Sandra M. Dìaz, Gunnerus Award laureate 2019. Photo: Sandra M. Díaz

Laureate 2017

Foto av Carl Folke

Carl Folke, Gunnerus Award laureate 2017. Photo: M.Axellson, Azote

Laureate 2012

Vinner av Gunnerusprisen 2012

Kamal Bawa, Gunnerus Award laureate 2012.